Posted on 17 March 2022

Top Tip Thursday: 5 tips to create more secure and efficient Teams meetings

Contact us

As remote and hybrid working becomes the norm for many individuals, it is essential that you keep in mind how to work safely and effectively online.

Luckily, Microsoft have a released several new features to help you achieve this goal. From keeping your meetings productive by limiting disruptions to removing one-time participants from meeting series, these tips will help you host safe and effective online meetings.

1. Use Meeting options to adjust the pre-meeting settings

Start your meetings on the right track by customising the settings before you start. You can do this by entering the Teams calendar and selecting the meeting. Once selected, click Meeting options at the top right of the page. A pop-up window will appear with all the meeting options you can change. This will allow you to adjust who has access to use the mic, turn on their camera, present, and more.

2. Keep meetings productive by limiting disruptions using in-meeting controls

Prepare for the unexpected with Microsoft’s new in-meeting controls. If you want to minimise any distractions coming from an attendee’s audio or video, you can manually disable their mic or camera. All you need to do is open More actions (…) next to the attendee’s name and select which actions you want to disable.

3. Make managing meetings much easier by delegating meeting roles

In situations where you have too much to do in a meeting, you can alleviate some of the stress by delegating meeting roles to other team members. You can promote a meeting attendee by clicking on More actions next to the attendee’s name where you can select Make a presenter, giving them almost all the capabilities an organiser has.

4. Remove one-off attendees from a meeting series

Prevent one-time attendees from accessing future meetings and chat by removing them from your Teams calendar participant list. To do this, double-click the meeting in the Teams calendar and remove the attendee by clicking the X next to their name. Although they will still be able to access all meeting information and chat history from when they were included, they will not see anything new once removed.

5. Wrap up meetings by ending it for everyone

Instead of waiting for your meeting participants to leave the room, you can wrap up the meeting for everyone by ending the meeting for all. This is especially useful for lager presentations, making sure attendees don’t stay in the meeting room after it has ended. Simply click the drop-down arrow next to the Leave button and select End meeting.

With over 15 years of experience in providing expert IT support and consultancy, you can trust in use to deliver excellent service to support your business’ IT capabilities. To book a consultation or learn more about our services, email us at [email protected], we’ll be happy to help!